SC orders re-election in NA-19 Haripur in KPK

19 Jun, 2015 10:10 am

ISLAMABAD (92 News) – Supreme Court on Friday ordered re-election in NA-19 Haripur in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, previously taken by Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz candidate Umer Ayub.

A three member bench headed by Justice Jawwad S Khawaja delivered the judgment in the petition filed by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Aamir Zaman.

Earlier, in the General Elections 2013 Amir Zaman defeated the PML-N candidate who then filed a plea in the tribunal. Upon the orders of the tribunal, re-polling was carried out in seven polling stations resulting in Ayub taking the lead with a margin of just 622 votes. Subsequently, Amir Zaman again moved the Supreme Court which today (Friday) ordered re-election in the constituency.


Must Watch