Sri Lanka bat as Test cricket returns to Pakistan after 10 years

11 Dec, 2019 9:20 am

RAWALPINDI (92 News) – Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat against Pakistan in the first Test at Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium on Wednesday.

Captain Azhar Ali said that he was much pleased at playing cricket at home ground. “We decided to play four fast bowlers after witnessing the wicket,” he said.

He said that they will try their best to display the excellent game.

Sri Lankan captain Dimuth Karunaratne said that they decided to bat as the wicket is good for batting. “Our players are used to playing in such conditions,” he said.


There is some rain expected on days two, three and four of the Test. The first day will be partially cloudy, with highs reaching 26°C. The pitch in Rawalpindi is generally good for batting.


Pakistan: Shan Masood, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Haris Sohail, Asad Shafiq, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Usman Khan Shinwari, Mohammad Abbas, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Afridi.

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Dilruwan Perera, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara.

Must Watch