Summary sent to PM for appointment of new PEMRA chief

24 May, 2018 9:26 pm

ISLAMABAD (92 News) – The committee headed by Sartaj Aziz has sent a summary to Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi for appointment of the new chairman of the Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority.

The committee has unanimously recommended Saleem Baig, a BS-20 officer, for the position. However, Awais Saleem and Mir Kamran Ali are also on the list.

Saleem Baig is currently working as Principal Information Officer.

The five-member committee was formed on the order of the Supreme Court.

Hameed Haroon, Mian Amir, Arif Nizami and Information secretary were members of the committee.

As many as 170 candidates had applied for the post. The committee shortlisted 61 candidates and interviewed them.

Must Watch