Tribunal rejects nomination papers of ex-PM Abbasi, Fawad Ch

27 Jun, 2018 2:59 pm

RAWALPINDI (92 News) – The appellate election tribunal on Wednesday has rejected the nomination papers of former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi for NA-57 and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf leader Fawad Ch for NA-67.

As per reports, the tribunal dismissed former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi’s nomination papers submitted for NA-57 constituency, Murree, his home constituency.

During the hearing of appeal, Justice Abdul Rehman Lodhi accepted all the objections of the petitioner and disallowed the ex-premier to contest the polls from this constituency.

The claimant, in his plea, stated that Shahid Khaqan Abbasi has occupied small forest near Lawrence College while he had also mentioned wrong price of his F7-II house in the papers.  Meanwhile, the tribunal also suspended returning officer after he accepted his mistake.

On the other hand, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Fawad Chaudhry was declared ineligible to contest the polls from NA-67. The tribunal had on Monday reserved its verdict on an appeal against the acceptance of Abbasi’s nomination papers by the returning officer (RO) and announced it today.

Moreover, Sardar Ghulam Abbas (NA-64 Choa Saidan Shah), Bilal Azhar Kiyani (NA-61), PTI’s Aftab Akbar Khan (PP-23 Chakwal) and PML-N’s Mir Badshah Qaisrani (NA-189 & PP-285) have been disqualified from the elections.

Dr Ashraf Asif Jalali of Tehreek-e-Labaik (NA-81 Gujranwala), Haider Ali Khan (NA-113 Toba Tek Singh) and Ch Imran Sher Ali (PP-117 Faisalabad) have also been barred from contesting the elections.

On the other hand, PTI provincial president Sardar Yar Muhammad has challenged the appellate tribunal in the Balochistan High Court.

Meanwhile, Khawaja Izharul Hassan (NA-243 Karachi), Amir Kayani (NA-61 Rawalpindi), Rana Zahid Hussain (NA-146 Arifwala) and Ramesh Lal Rajput (a minority candidate from Balochistan) have been allowed to contest the elections.

The nomination papers of Former federal minister Saira Afzal Tarar from Hafizabad, PML-N’s Ghulam Ahmed Gadi (PP-124 Jhang), PML-N’s Ch Zahid Mehmood (PP-107) and PML-N’s Nadeem Aftab Sindh (PP-109 Faisalabad) have been accepted.

Candidates can withdraw their nomination papers by Friday and the Election Commission will allot election symbols to candidates on Saturday. Polling for the general elections will be held on 25th of next month.

Must Watch