Two newly-elected senators from FATA join PML-N

05 Mar, 2018 2:42 pm

ISLAMABAD (92 News) – As the Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) and Pakistan Muslim League–Nawaz (PML-N) are lobbying for the position of Senate chairman, two recently elected senators from Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA) joined the ruling PML-N.

The newly-elected senators Shamim Afridi and Mirza Muhammad Afridi met former prime minister Nawaz Sharif in Islamabad today.

During the meeting they announced to join the PML-N.

PML-N chairman Raja Zafarul Haq and Ameer Muqam were also present in the meeting.

The ruling PML-N is expected to filed party chairman Raja Zafarul Haq as the candidate for the Senate chairman while, the name of Pervaiz Rasheed has also been circulating for the top slot.



Earlier, according to detailed official result released by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), the ruling PML-N backed candidates have won majority seats from Centre and Punjab and Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) from Sindh and PTI from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in election for 52 vacant seats.

The results show that PML-N has won 15 seats, PPP 12, PTI 6, National Party and Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party clinched two each while Jammiat Ulema Islam (F), Jamat Islami, MQM (Pak) and PML-F won one each.

Ten independent candidates have also got victory in the Senate Election. The PML-N supported candidates have won both the Senate seats from the Federal Capital Territory.

Hidayatullah, Shamim Afridi, Hilal-ur-Rehman and Mirza Muhammad Afridi have been elected as Senators against four FATA seats.



Must Watch