Monday, November 29, 2021
اُردُو نیوز Newspaper Live-TV(UK) Live-TV(PK)
اُردُو نیوز Newspaper
Live-TV(UK) Live-TV(PK)

Pakistan take five wickets in first Test against Sri Lanka

Pakistan take five wickets in first Test against Sri Lanka
December 12, 2019
RAWALPINDI (92News/Agencies) – Pakistan’s bowlers took five wickets before play was ended due to bad light in the first Test match against Sri Lanka at Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium on Wednesday. The visitors scored 205 runs at 68.1 overs before the day's play was ended. Naseem Shah showcased a superb performance, taking two wickets while Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Shinwari and Mohammad Usman picked up one each. Dimuth Karunaratne, the Sri Lankan Test captain, was the highest scorer for the team putting 59 runs on the scoreboard before being sent back to the stands. After 50 overs, the visitors put 137 runs on the scoreboard for the loss of four wickets. Earlier, Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat against Pakistan in the first Test at Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium. Captain Azhar Ali said that he was much pleased at playing cricket at home ground. “We decided to play four fast bowlers after witnessing the wicket,” he said. He said that they will try their best to display the excellent game. Sri Lankan captain Dimuth Karunaratne said that they decided to bat as the wicket is good for batting. “Our players are used to playing in such conditions,” he said. "It's a historic occasion and all the players are excited to be part of this," Azhar, who has played 75 Tests — but, until now, none at home — said at a press conference in Rawalpindi with his counterpart, Karunaratne.
There is some rain expected on days two, three and four of the Test. The first day will be partially cloudy, with highs reaching 26°C. The pitch in Rawalpindi is generally good for batting.
Pakistan: Shan Masood, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Haris Sohail, Asad Shafiq, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Usman Khan Shinwari, Mohammad Abbas, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Afridi. Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Dilruwan Perera, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara.